Two Years Ago Today…

Paul and I had our first date. It doesn’t take a mathematician to realize that Paul and I have not had the ideal “length” of a relationship before it is socially acceptable to get married these days.  When people find out how long we have been together their face says it all.  Most people think we are crazy, and I’m not denying that we aren’t, but I also wouldn’t change a thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our first date was so easy.  We talked about everything, and when we got up to leave neither of us was ready for the date to be over.  Unfortunately, since I’d just had knee surgery a week prior I wasn’t really able to do anything, so we said our goodbyes with huge smiles. I immediately called my sister to tell her about it. I explained how conversation was so easy, I felt so comfortable with him, and he seemed like such a great guy. I didn’t want to get ahead of myself, but for some reason I just felt that we would have some kind of future relationship. I had no idea what it would entail, but I knew there would be another date. There was… the next day, and then everyday after that.

Paul and I both have birthday’s in June, and with the help of my friend Malarie, they planned a trip for the four of us (Malarie, Eric – her then boyfriend, now husband, Paul and myself) to go to Destin for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was during this trip, only 19 days after our first date, that I knew I was completely in love with him. I wanted him to be the man I spent forever with. I didn’t tell him this then, but I knew it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It wasn’t just apparent to Paul and I though. Our families knew. I went shopping with my sister, and her exact words were, “David and I think you’re going to marry him.” This was about two weeks after our first date. My parents knew the first time they met him. After we got engaged, my dad let me in on a secret. After they met Paul, they knew they had to start saving up for a wedding in the future. Paul’s mom may have been my biggest fan from the start. She hadn’t even met me yet, and she was ready for Paul to propose (he must have really talked me up to her…).

Paul and I don’t celebrate our dating anniversary anymore (especially not with our first wedding anniversary coming up next month!), but I still love it.  Our little whirlwind relationship timed perfectly by God.  He answered both of our prayers on June 5, 2012, and 19 quick days later I knew I wanted this guy in my future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Two Years Ago Today…

  1. Cassie June 5, 2014 / 2:35 pm

    So sweet, congrats! My perspective on the length of time people has changed a lot since I met my fiancé. I always thought I would date at least two yeas before getting engaged, but that went out the window when I knew he was the one!

    • Lauren Millard June 5, 2014 / 2:44 pm

      It changed mine too Cassie! I always thought people were crazy marrying so quickly… until I became one of them 🙂 I can’t wait for your upcoming wedding and to see all the pictures!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

