SURPRISE!

Based on the title of this blog post I have a feeling I may have an aunt or two that may think this is a pregnancy announcement… Spoiler alert! It’s not – not yet anyways 🙂

Yesterday was Paul’s birthday – and ironically, the first birthday of his that we have ever spent together! Apparently he likes to plan to be out of town for his birthday, and then I don’t get to do any fun stuff with him to celebrate! This year I was so excited to get to actually spend it with him!  When I asked him what he wanted to do I wasn’t  huge fan of his response… He wanted to have a cookout with friends at our house.  It doesn’t seem like there is anything wrong with that idea – it’s actually pretty great, but our house is not the house for entertaining.

We have no parking – Our street is really narrow and if you park in the road – the person across the street will probably hit your car when they try to back out of their driveway.   We have a couch and a kitchen table – seating for 7.  If people don’t mind getting up close and personal.  Our backyard is dirt, and our kitchen is tiny.  Really not the house that was built to entertain a bunch of friends.  So he created a new plan which was dinner out with his friends for his birthday and he proceeded to invite people.

Meanwhile, on Friday night we were out with our friends and the girls were asking me what we were doing.  I was explaining how he wanted to have a cookout, but our house isn’t made for that yada yada yada.  Our friend, Danielle, then volunteered her house for us to throw him a party (Bless her heart – how sweet is she!!).  Leave it to a group of girls to immediately start planning a party for 2 days later!

Plan of action:

  1. Figure out food (dividied up between 4 girls – easy peasy)
  2. Invite people (So easy thanks so social media and private event pages)
  3. Get Paul there without spilling the beans…

I told Paul that Danielle and her husband, Justin, were having a cookout for the Heat game (expecting him to be all in as usual) and his response was “Tell them maybe – I wanted to do something with you on Sunday for my brithday”… GREAT! That was not the response I expected.  So I kind of blew off what he wanted to do for his birthday plans and changed around the schedule he had in his head in hopes that it would work and he wouldn’t put up a fight – thankfully he didn’t!

Sunday night we got dressed and headed over to Danielle and Justin’s for the game and I told him it was all of my friends from work that would be there.  While we are driving there he was telling me all about how the guys were giving him crap for not hanging out and watching the game with them, while I stiffled laughs and smiles.  When we got to the house I had Paul go in front of me and when Justin opened the door everyone jumped out and yelled “SURPRISE!” (obviously).   Paul was definitely surprised – but he looked ANGRY! Come to find out that was Paul’s confused face.

The night was awesome and I really can’t thank our friends enough for all of their help and last minute efforts for pulling off the surprise and making his birthday special.  Not to mention we finally got to spend it together!  I definitely won wife points that night, but then I lost them for taking basically zero pictures.  Wife fail.

photo 1 (2) photo 2 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

