Benadryl to the Rescue

I’ve posted previously about our chocolate lab, Laila, here.  Well, we didn’t make it very long before she was post worthy again.  We made it a little over a month with a healthy girl.  When Paul and I went to bed Sunday night she was happy and healthy.  When I woke up on Monday morning to this face, I’m sure you can imagine my surprise.

image (1)

Check out the snout on that girl!! She looks like she might as well be a cartoon dog like Goofy or something! (sorry for how dark it was – but it was 6:30 in the morning). I immediately freak out, I do not do well when there may be something wrong with people/animals I love… God help me when Paul and I have actual children.  I woke Paul up and I started taking pictures and giving Laila Benadryl… AGAIN!  My friend’s brother is a vet, so I wanted to document everything so she could get some insight from him. Lo and behold – the vet says she is having an allergic reaction and it probably isn’t necessary to take her in unless it kept getting worse or she started puking, etc.  This made me feel better, but as Laila’s swelling went down, her hives came out.

image image (1)

This poor girl just can’t catch a break!

image

Luckily, the swelling in her snout has gone done.  Now we just have to wait out the hives!  We are pretty sure she got bit by something this time, and unless something seriously changes in her condition she won’t be making a vet visit this time.  Paul keeps joking that we are going to have to drop her off with his parents in Virginia next week until the Florida summer has passed and the bugs/plants are gone so she can safely return home… This is not happening.  She’s my protector when he’s gone!

So almost 1 month to the day – Laila has made her second blog appearance… and not for the best reasons!  Paul and I are hoping she will be back to normal by Thursday before we leave for Tampa on Friday!

Leave a Reply

