Wedding Memories

I cannot believe that this weekend is Paul and I’s first anniversary!! This year has flown by, and I cannot help but reminisce on our wedding day.

wedding 6 wedding 9 wedding 12 wedding 14

I remember waking up to pouring rain, and unable to fall back asleep so I left the hotel to go buy breakfast for my amazing bridesmaids.  I remember thinking all morning that the rain wouldn’t stop in time, and trying to tell myself that it didn’t matter.  I remember being completely bummed when the florist brought pink bouquets for our purple and gray wedding.  I kept telling myself that regardless of what happened, I would be Mrs. Millard at the end of the day and that is all that really mattered.  I remember my family and friends going above and beyond to make my dream wedding come through.  Rain or shine they would make it perfect.

wedding 20

I remember being so nervous to see Paul, and as soon as I saw him my nerves went away and the excitement came.  I remember thinking I was crazy for planning a wedding in July, in Florida… AKA rainy, humid, hot season.  I remember taking pictures all over the plantation, and being surrounded by little gnats.  Paul kept ruining pictures by swatting them away, and when I was trying to be sweet and let Paul know I would keep the bugs out of his face I made a comment along the lines of, “Stop babe, I’ll blow you”, it came off completely inappropriate sounding and Paul and I died laughing with our photographers which resulted in this picture that I love.

wedding 7

I remember the clouds clearing just in time for pictures.  I remember getting overwhelmed with emotions when I saw my daddy through the window.  I remember the chaos of starting the ceremony about 15 minutes early to beat the huge storm rolling in, and briefly turning into a bridezilla hoping we would beat the rain! I remember walking down the aisle linked arm and arm to my daddy as he gave me away to the man of my dreams.

wedding 21

I remember taking communion during our wedding, at which point my dad said, “Now would be a good time to put Paul’s ring on the right finger”, and I almost spit out my drink everywhere.  I remember being comforted by Pastor David marrying us.  I remember getting to kiss my husband for the very first time, and celebrating late into the night with family and friends.

Now Paul in just a moment, I’m going to invite you to kiss the bride. This is not an ordinary kiss, Paul. This is the first time that you’ll ever kiss your wife… Make it count. Paul you may kiss the bride.

wedding 16

It was the most chaotic day, and so incredibly perfect at the same time.  I am so glad Paul and I decided to hire the videographers, because it is by far one of the best ways we have to remember our wedding!

2 thoughts on “Wedding Memories

  1. Megan July 18, 2014 / 1:20 pm

    Ah! I can’t believe it’s been a year!! I will never forget seeing how beautiful you looked in your dress when you were walking down the isle! I am forever grateful that God blessed me with such an amazing best friend and that I was apart of your special day. Love you to the moon and back 😊

    • Lauren Millard July 18, 2014 / 1:21 pm

      Aww thank you love! I’m so glad you were standing by me! Love you!

Leave a Reply

