Good Reads

I’m a homebody.  I didn’t use to be, but at some point I became one and I am more than okay with it.  I may only be 25, but there is nothing about a night out at a bar that appeals to me… at all.  I absolutely love the idea of curling up in bed, on my couch, outside with a good book.  Well in the whirlwind that has been 2014 so far, I have not been reading.  You would think with all the traveling we have been doing I’d be doing a lot of reading, but it’s quite the opposite.  So after Paul and I got home from our anniversary weekend getaway last weekend, I told him, “Next weekend, I am doing nothing.  I am going to read, and lay in bed and not move”.  I did just that this weekend (along with some errands and hanging out with my sister’s adorable family),  and it was awesome!  In the last week, I had time to read 2 books and they were both awesome so I figured I would share, because if you’re like me you’re always looking for a good read!

It’s a God Thing

By Don Jacobson & KLOVE

So this book has been on my list to read for quite some time.  I keep hearing about it on KLOVE, and last weekend when Paul and I ate at Cheesecake Factory in Jacksonville for our anniversary, it was only appropriate to stop at Barnes & Noble next door to browse.  I ended up finding this book, and I’m so glad I did.  This book is a compilation of short stories from different people and the everyday miracles God performs.  I LOVED this book.  It was a quick and easy read since each story is only 2-3 pages.  They are interesting, and so many of them had me thinking “GOD IS GOOD!”.  Not just that though, it also had me thinking about the events that have happened in my life and it made me think that more of it is God than I may have even considered in the past!  I think it helped me realize what counts as a “miracle”.  Some of the miracles are so small, and yet so huge.  When we think miracles, we think turning water into wine or feeding the thousands!  But this book just goes to show that God still performs miracles every single day.  We just have to acknowledge them!  I also discovered there is now a volume 2 and that may be on my list of things to read shortly!

Making Faces

By Amy Harmon

This book was lent to me by my BFF via Nook and it was awesome.  I finished it in 2 days.  I laughed and cried during this book.  It’s a romance novel that takes place in a small town where 5 boys go off to fight in the Iraq, and only 1 comes back.  When the 1 boy comes back he is filled with heartache and self hate.  The story is about how he overcomes his struggles and falls in love with a girl who is beautiful inside and out.  During the story beautiful friendships are created, and they overcome so many obstacles for a small town and a close knit group of friends.  Not only is it a good read, but it also includes pieces of scripture and has a Christian base in the story.  It is an easy read that I couldn’t put down.

Hopefully I will be able to read more over the coming weeks, and I’ll share the good ones and even the not so good ones!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

