Just Call me Hitch

I recently posted about getting back on a workout regimen and eating healthy, so in lieu of this plan I recently started the Couch to 5K program with a friend of mine.  We’ve been running three times a week for two weeks, and I always add in some extra runs with Paul and our dogs.  Secretly I’ve always wanted to be a runner, but it’s just never been in the cards for me.

So this past weekend, Paul and I went for a run while we were visiting my family in Orlando.  We made it about 2 miles when I started struggling.  I felt like my food from dinner was being pushed back up my throat and it wouldn’t go down.  I was having trouble breathing, and I felt like I needed to throw up.  At this point we decided to turn around and head back towards my parents house.

On our way back, my body started having symptoms similar to an allergic reaction.  My hands got tingly and started swelling – they got so big it hurt to bend my fingers.  Then my ear lobes started tingling along with my forehead and my lips.  My neck and armpits started itching like crazy.  The whole time Paul just kept saying, “I think you’re having an allergic reaction… Let’s just get you home.”  The closer we got to the house, the more frequently he asked me if he could just throw me on his back and run home.

When we finally made it home I started telling my mom what happened, and she looked at me and said “oh, you do look a little puffy”.  My family proceeded to feed me Benedryl and tell me to take a shower.  When I went to take a shower I walked into the bathroom and looked at myself for the first time since getting home.  I immediately said “Oh my goodness I look like Hitch!”.  Now for anyone who has not seen this movie, Hitch has a severe allergic reaction and his face swells.  I am not exaggerating when I say my entire face was swollen and I looked like Hitch!!!  To add to my sweet swollen face, I had also broken out in hives all over my body.  By the time I got out of the shower we started going through my day trying to figure out what could possibly cause an allergic reaction.  At this point, I remembered that this has happened to me previously while working out about 5 years ago.

So on Sunday morning my mom started Googling, and  trying to figure out what the heck caused the strange reaction.  So here is our internet educated diagnosis of myself… get ready for it folks…

I am ALLERGIC to EXERCISE!!!

I swear!  During her research she discovered EIA – Exercise-Induced Anaphylaxis, and it described what happpened to me to the “T”!  Google it if you don’t believe me! Basically, something triggers this reaction during a workout.  It can be triggered by eating certain foods before working out, extreme environmental conditions, etc.  I have no idea what triggered it on Saturday, or 5 years ago, but it is a funny diagnosis regardless.  What better excuse can you have for not going to workout than, “I’m allergic!”… (I should get a pan of brownies since I didn’t use it and I got out of bed at 5:3o this morning and went running).

So there you have it – you can literally be allergic to exercise… and then after your face swells up your husband can also call you Chewbacca for the rest of the weekend.  It will be fun I promise!

Leave a Reply

