Bittersweet #1

We have officially entered moving month.  In 21 days I will no longer be the Tallahassee resident I never knew I would be.  I always assumed I would move back home after college, but life happened.  I got a job, I met THE boy.  We got married and settled in.  Tallahassee has worked out pretty well, and we saw our future here.  Well life threw another unexpected curve ball, and we are about to start a new adventure. There are times when I get really excited, and then times I get sad to leave.  So here’s my new mini series of posts of our bittersweet move.

BITTER

I am pretty sure there aren’t too many things I love more than game day in Tallahassee.  The atmosphere in this small town is just amazing.  EVERYWHERE you look you see Garnet and Gold, FSU flags, FSU car stickers, FSU signs at businesses, and weekly “tailgates” downtown Friday nights during football season.  The entire community goes all out, and I didn’t realize I would miss it, until I realized we won’t have it anymore. I’m sure it is like this is most big college towns, but this is MY college town.  I’ll miss being able to go to the mall and find stores full of FSU things or hearing our Pastor talk about the Seminoles at church and cracks little gator jokes. I can’t get that in Orlando!!! Luckily, we will be back for home games, but during those away games when the atmosphere is still amazing and every sports bar is packed, there are house parties, little get togethers and everyone is rooting for the same team.  It just won’t be the same.  Don’t even try to argue that UCF is the same. It’s not.

IMG_4238 IMG_3793

IMG_3760

SWEET

I have some great friends back home that I’ve stayed in touch with, two of them were my bridesmaids.  I am super excited to be able to see them on a regular basis!!  Leaving them was one of the hard parts of moving away to go to school, and now they get to be a reason that I’m excited to move back home.  When the new T. Swift CD comes out next month, I know I can call Megan and we will go to Target at 8am to buy the DELUXE version and then we will stop at Starbucks or Chik-Fil-A and drive around screaming her album at the top of our lungs like we are still 16.  Only to go back to our houses to decode her lyrics to figure out who the song is about, because that’s our tradition.  I will also have my personal stylist, Anna, back! Which is just happy, because we all know shopping and fashion are not my strong points.  That’s why I shop online and win the award for worst girl ever.  I have a lot of other amazing people I’m excited to move back and see, and I know that will help me with the transition.

Lo Shower (23 of 89)

There you have it.  The first bittersweet of our move.

Leave a Reply

