Baby M – 18 Weeks

18 Weeks

Bump Analysis? I am pretty sure I’ve doubled in size since last week… or at least that is how it feels.  I sent my sister a text last night worried I was getting too big too fast, and that I looked further along then I really was.  Her response, “LOL I’m sorry, but I’m actually laughing out loud.  This is nowhere close to 7 months… you’re going to look back on this picture and be like yep that was tiny…” So I guess I should just prepare myself…

Month/Trimester? 5 months/ 2nd Trimester!  Where did the first 4 months go?!

Fruit of the week? Our baby is the size of a sweet potato! 5.6 inches long and 6.7 ounces!

Development? Junebug is now yawning, hiccuping, sucking and swallowing… all while twisting, rolling, punching and kicking!  Working on her muscles!

Movement? She’s seemed a little less active this week, but I do still feel her and every time I feel the need to say hi to her!  It’s like she’s letting me know she’s still here and checking in.

Names? Aubrey Joy – we’ve had a lot of questions about where her name came from.  Paul and I threw out random names all the time, and Aubrey was the one that stuck.  Paul fell in love immediately.  I loved the name, but I took a little longer to jump on board.  It was pretty adorable to see his reaction to the name though, from the very beginning he just kept saying, “I see my daughter as Aubrey”. Cue melting heart.

Joy is a family name.  My mom’s sister, Melanie, has the middle name Joy.  When my mom had my sister, my sister became Melissa Joy.  I decided years ago, I would continue that when I eventually had kids.  So I knew whenever I had a little girl, the middle name had to be Joy.  Not to mention my sister is my absolute best friend, and I could only hope to have a little girl just like her.  So I think it’s a great name to pass on.  To add a little to the cuteness of our baby having her midde name, my sister’s first daughter has my middle name.  We did a little trade 🙂

Testing? We did the second part of the NT exam – which is referred to as APT.  It checks for Spina Bifida.  We are waiting back on the results.

Weight Gain? 4 lbs… and counting.

Symptoms?  Having round ligament pains pretty consistently, and they are actually waking me up or keeping me up at night now. I also woke up last night to go to the bathroom, and on my way I was so dizzy I was actually stumbling like I was completely drunk… so weird.

Cravings? I started craving shrimp… Paul and I had bang bang shrimp on NYE, and then he wanted me to try and make it at home.  So we bought shrimp, and I did.  Then we used the leftover shrimp to make shrimp skewers.  Since then, I’ve wanted shrimp almost every night.  So I planned a few meals to incorporate shrimp and satisfy my craving.

Aversions? Buffalo Chicken Dip

Sleep?  I’ve started trying to fall asleep on my side, when I lay on my stomach I can actually feel pressure like I’m pushing and compacting everything inside me… So sad.  Only 5 more months before I can sleep on my stomach again!  Not to mention I think I somehow slept wrong at some point this week, which left terrible pain in my neck that shot down my right arm to my fingers, and occasionally in my chest and shoulder… Seriously? Thanks for all the back rubs honey 🙂

Maternity Clothes? Still just a few maternity shirts, but at the rate I seem to be growing this could be changing soon. 

Stretch Marks? Don’t say that word around here…

Labor Signs? Praying not to have these anytime soon!

What I miss? I’m actually doing okay right now – more excited about the future than focusing on what I’m missing right now 🙂

Looking forward to? Heading to Tallahassee to celebrate one of my best friends birthdays, and to see my cute little nieces!  🙂

Leave a Reply

