Goodreads 2.0

I grew up dancing as my hobby, and then I grew up and realized my only hobby now is that I like to read… how lame am I?!  So since Paul and I have moved, I live literally 2 seconds from the library, and I figure I should take advantage of being able to read now before I have a little baby interrupting all of my reading time!  Here’s what I’ve been reading lately…

The Prodigy Trilogy by Marie Lu 

This series is amazing.   It is a story about the United States years in the future.  There is a corrupt government that has divided the country into two separate functioning countries, and they are at war.  The country’s most intelligent and skilled soldier sets out to find the country’s most wanted.  When she discovers him, it is not what she expects.  She learns more about the country, and she realizes it isn’t the same country she thought she loved and knew.  Now she has to decide if she should support the country she has always loved, or if she should join the rebellion.  These books are young adult, but they are written so well and such quick reads.  I could not stop turning the pages.  This is the series that keeps you up at all hours of the night reading, because you have to know what is happening next!

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks

If you know Nicholas Sparks this is obviously a romance novel.  It’s an unlikely love story between a city girl and a country boy.  Throughout the book it goes back and forth between their love story, and the love story of Ira and his wife.  Ira is much older, and his wife passed away.  Throughout the book Ira reminisces on their love story, and how their obsession with artwork began.  The love stories of the older couple and the younger couple intertwine at the end of the book, and leave you hoping everything will work out.  Though you can predict it will have a happy ending, you don’t know exactly how it will play out.  I created several scenarios in my head for what might happen, but all of them were wrong.  It was beautifully written, and left me in tears.

Orphan Train by Christina Kline 

This story is about a girl who comes to the US with her family, and not long after their immigration, she becomes an orphan.  With nobody she knows in the US, she is sent to the orphanage where they take a train from city to city in hopes that someone will adopt them.  It goes through her tragic life story as she jumps from family to family, and the situations she has to go through.  While going through the story of her life, it alternates with the story of a current day orphan, who is left to clean this woman’s attic for community service.  While cleaning the attic, she realizes she has more in common with this rich and privileged woman than she thought.  This story is beautifully tragic, but it brings you hope and a happy ending.  It also left me wanting to adopt a child more than I already do…

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

I’m still really torn about this book.  I can’t decide if I liked it or not.  This story is set in the 80s when AIDS was first becoming widespread.  A young girl is best friends with her uncle, who happens to be dying of AIDS.  She feels as though he is the only person in the world she can relate to, she has no friends, and she and her sister no longer get along.  After her uncle dies, June meets a man who as much as she wants to hate, she comes to love.  This man was her uncle’s boyfriend, and they basically help each other to grieve and get through the loss.  I spent the first 75% of this book complaining to my mom that everyone said it was supposed to be amazing, but 1. it wasn’t what I was expecting at all and 2. I felt like the book didn’t really have much of a plot.  It kept going and going and telling stories, and it wasn’t until the last 75 pages or so that everything tied together and created a plot.  It did leave me in tears, and the last pages were beautifully written, but for the most part I felt uncomfortable reading it.  The relationship June has with her uncle is weird to say the least…she is more in love with her uncle than loves him as an uncle.  I had a really hard time connecting at all to her as the main character.  So aside from the amazing reviews this book had on Goodreads, I was left torn aside from those last pages of the 355 page book…

Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina by Misty Copeland

This is an autobiography by Misty Copeland who is a soloist ballerina at ABT.  It goes through the story of her life, how she got into dance, and her struggle being one of the few black prima ballerinas.  I really think her story is amazing, and she has overcome a very rough past.  She has used everything in her life to make her successful.  She came close to quitting multiple times, but she always made it through the difficult times.  It also left me begging Paul to take me to New York so I could watch her dance.

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty 

This book is a really quick read, I think it took me 2-3 days to finish it because it is a page turner.  This story is about 3 women who barely know each other, but their lives end up connected after one woman discovers a letter written to her from her husband.  She is supposed to read the letter after he passes away, but she reads it while he is still very much alive.  I will leave this vague, because if you’re going to read it I don’t want to spoil it for you.  This story had my mouth drop a couple times.  Then I would stop reading, look at Paul, and tell him what was happening in the story.  Then I would try to figure out what I would do if I was in the situation!  The story is an adult story, and there are a lot of morally wrong things that happen in this book.  I think that alone, is what kept me from falling completely in love with this book.  I couldn’t put it down, because I had to know what was happening, but some of it was just hard to read from a moral standpoint.

Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

This is a lighthearted story that takes place over in London about an average girl in her 20s who just wants to be successful and make her parents and herself proud.  She spills all of her little secrets to a stranger on a plane when she thinks the plane is about to crash.  Little does she know this man will enter her life in a big way, and now he knows everything about her down to her smallest and biggest secrets.  This story had me laughing at the main characters inner dialogue, because I feel like it is how most people would react in her situation.  If you’re looking for a quick, funny and lighthearted read, this is a great little book to keep you entertained.

This isn’t all the books I’ve read since we’ve moved, but some of them weren’t worth mentioning.  Like I said, I’ve been reading a lot… next up Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.  I know I’m really behind the ball on this one, but I’m getting to it right?

Leave a Reply

