The Downfall of Pregnancy

Weight gain is an inevitable part of pregnancy.  So far, I’m on track to gain the recommended amount of weight, but apparently the last few months those numbers can escalate quickly.  That being said,  people always say the cardinal rule for a husband, is not to talk about your weight while your wife is packing on the pounds.  Call me abnormal, but this doesn’t really bother me.

Paul noticed he put on a few “sympathy pounds” in the last 5 months (by a few I literally mean a FEW and not some huge weight gain), and since then he has become super motivated to get back in shape.  He’s been drinking water, snacking on fruits and veggies, and been increasing his workouts.  He used his “blow money” (any Dave Ramsey fans?) this month to purchase an Adidas FitSmart Heart Rate Monitor.  So now seeing how many calories he’s burning, has made him more motivated!

This is all great!  I’m proud of him – I feel like I should add that bit in before I go into the point of this post.  In his motivation, he’s motivated me, and this can be something we do together.  Except for that one MINOR detail… I’m pregnant, and definitely GAINING WEIGHT!  No big deal.  Give me about 6 months or so to pop out our little girl, and be cleared to workout again, then let’s get motivated! This is what bothers me!  In his weight loss talk, I want to do it to!  Except, I shouldn’t be losing weight right now.

Regardless of the minor detail, and the fact that I will not be getting in shape anytime soon, he has successfully motivated me to get back in the gym, and keep myself from gaining an exorbitant amount of weight.  I’m honestly not that worried about my weight gain, I just don’t like the thought of having to try and lose it after she comes when I’m sleep deprived.

I guess it’s just frustrating to watch him get excited to see the number on the scale go down, while my number keeps going up.  Excuse me while I sit in the corner eating Oreos and binge watching Netflix to make myself feel better… Ironic right?

I guess the downside of this whole situation for Paul could be that he thinks I’m trying to sabotage his weight loss by keeping our house stocked with Oreos, Heart Reeses (because the holiday ones are the best), and random sweets.  I definitely wouldn’t do that… but Aubrey would 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Downfall of Pregnancy

  1. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet February 13, 2015 / 8:46 am

    Ahh okay, at least I’m not the only one! I literally just had this conversation with Patrick this morning. I lost 100lbs in 2009, so I haven’t been “fat” or overweight for almost 6 years, so it’s a little mentally challenging to see the number on the scale go up. I use to do body building/ power lifting before pregnancy and now I do what a normal person would call staying in shape and people keep saying how great it is, which I know. But to me, it’s nothing! I can’t wait to go back to my bodybuilding routine/ macro counting. I just keep thinking September is right around the corner 🙂

    • Lauren Millard February 13, 2015 / 9:13 am

      Good for you girl!! I’ve been seriously slacking after I got sick in the first trimester! So now it’s time to buckle down again! I don’t have to gain more weight than needed to be healthy for my little girl!! But you’re definitely not the only one cringing as the scale goes up!!!

      • Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet February 13, 2015 / 9:19 am

        Everyone keeps telling me your pregnant duh its going to happen… 95% of these people are either men, never been pregnant or don’t plan on it. So I’m like SHHH! You got this 😉

Leave a Reply

