The Pregnancy Struggles 1.0

Pregnancy is absolutely beautiful when you look at the big picture that God is blessing me with a baby, and I am literally GROWING a person!  When I can feel her moving around, when I imagine what she will look like.  It’s absolutely amazing, and I love it! You will find me (and countless other pregnant women) with my hands constantly on my belly.  Maybe it’s to feel like I’m protecting her, or maybe it’s because I just want to be close to her and I can’t wait to actually hold her!  I’ve dreamed of being a mom for years, and my dream is finally coming true!

Recently though, my sister and I were talking about pregnancy.  She has two little girls, so she’s been through the rodeo of pregnancy.  She has never been the girl who said, “Oh I loved being pregnant!” so don’t expect any sugar coating from her.  I was telling her about my aches and symptoms, and her response was something along the lines of, “See pregnancy sucks.” Pregnancy is kind of awful.  The more pregnant I become, the more difficult certain activities are, and pregnancy is not beautiful on a day to day basis.  I am so not that girl that has the “pregnant glow” unless the glow of my acne counts.  Why is it so difficult you ask??

  • Morning Sickness. The whole puking thing for the first 8 weeks was miserable!! When it went away I finally got to the point where I was enjoying my pregnancy.
  • Feeling winded. Little activities leave me winded.  i.e. putting on my socks.  It’s a struggle!  Won’t be long before I’m asking Paul to put them on for me!
  • Trying to stay in shape.  Working out at the gym is getting harder, because it’s a whole lot more difficult to maneuver with a basketball on your stomach! Not to mention, you try to workout so you can stay in shape, be healthy for you and baby, keep from gaining too much weight, and to help with labor… but then your body screams for sweets to be your main food group. It’s really a cruel joke.
  • The dance.  The dance I am referring to is the pants dance.  The jumps and wiggles to get those suckers on!  I really should just upgrade to maternity jeans… I think I just decided to do that.  I’ll be 24 weeks tomorrow, and I’m giving in.  Bring on the stretchy waist!  [Also, all I can think of right now is the FRIENDS episode where Joey steals Pheobe’s maternity jeans.  Pheobe: Joey those are my maternity pants.  Joey: No! These are my Thanksgiving pants!]
  • The turtle stuck on it’s back.  This is how I feel when I try to get off the couch, or out of bed.  This is only going to get worse as the pregnancy progresses… It’s quite the show really.  My sister and I laughed about this one the other night.  When something I said reminded her of  her blog post on this here.
  • Old Lady Syndrome.  Seriously, just consider me an old lady.  My back aches, and I want to sit on a donut.  No worries, I’m only 25, but I’m acting worse than an 80 year old.
  • Hormone Overload.  It’s like your body doesn’t know how to function normally with all these crazy hormones running through your body.  I have unintentional bangs, not from a bad haircut, but because it’s literally falling off ?  Breaking off? Who knows!  The ugly line down my stomach has started, along with darker hair down my belly.  NONE of this sounds beautiful.

So really, pregnancy isn’t that great on a day to day basis.  [yes I’m aware most of these struggles will only get worse as I get further along] I think women say they loved being pregnant, because the end reward is so incredibly great.  You would go through the struggle a hundred times over to hold your little baby in your arms.  I can complain about the crazy symptoms I’m having everyday, and how much pregnancy sucks.  In the grand scheme of things, I am LOVING this time,  as awkward and uncomfortable as I feel sometimes, because I can’t get enough of what I know is coming.  I love seeing my belly move from her little kicks, I can watch it for hours.  Or when she balls up on one side and I can actually feel her butt or head.  I cannot wait to see her precious little face in person, and to hold her in my arms.  I can’t wait to see how quickly her Daddy gets wrapped around her tiny little finger.  If I have to go through the pregnancy struggles for those little moments, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  I will thank God for each and every discomfort, because He has given me the greatest blessing.

Aubrey Joy, I cannot wait to meet you sweet girl… and maybe also for you to get off that nerve you love sitting on… 🙂

One thought on “The Pregnancy Struggles 1.0

Leave a Reply

