Baby M – 27 Weeks

27 Weeks

Bump Analysis? Just getting bigger… ignore the huge bruise on my leg.  I tend to run into things.

Month/Trimester? 6 months [22 weeks – 27 weeks] / 2nd Trimester! **LAST WEEK OF THE SECOND TRIMESTER!!!**

Fruit of the week? Our baby is the size of a Rutabaga! 13.6 -14.8 inches long and 1.5 to 2.5 pounds!

Development? She’s still practicing breathing, and she officially has brain activity!

Movement? It’s official.  Our daughter is nocturnal. I feel her sporadically throughout the day, but when it hits about 9:45 – 10pm she throws a party in there, and it usually keeps me up for a little bit.  So we hang out while dad snoozes next to us.

Name? Aubrey Joy 🙂

Testing? I head to the doctor next week to be tested for gestational diabetes, and since I was just there last week that means I’ve officially hit the point in pregnancy where you visit the doctor every 2 weeks from 28 weeks – 36 weeks.  So I think we can say we are officially on the  downward slope of the pregnancy hill!

Weight Gain? No weight gain this week… Totaling 18 lbs.

Symptoms? This sounds like a complaint section – but it’s the truth.

  • Acne <– this might be getting a little better?
  • Excessive pee breaks
  • Faint line (Linea Nigra) forming below my belly button
  • Losing hair at my hair line – so much for luxurious pregnancy hair.
  • Tailbone Pain
  • Braxton Hicks
  • Crying for no reason
  • Back pain… it’s back. I spoke too soon.
  • Heartburn

Cravings? Not really craving anything in particular lately.  This past weekend I NEEDED a cinnamon roll from a place in Tallahassee, and my BFF Malarie totally went and got me one.  She won the most awesome person of the year award.  I would go to Tallahassee just for these cinnamon rolls.

Aversions? Buffalo Chicken Dip

Sleep? Pregnancy induced insomnia – I made up the name ( I think), but I am diagnosing myself with it.  I head to bed exhausted, and then I lay there for HOURS until 1-2am tossing and turning, and mind racing about baby things.  (i.e. Is it too soon to start babyproofing the house?  What decorations will I use to finish the nursery?  I wonder how labor will go.  Did I register for that?  Do I need that? Why is Paul so happily snoring away, and I’m laying here.  I have to pee… again.)

Maternity Clothes? It’s a good thing these suckers are comfy, because I’m all about comfort these days (well I’ve always been about comfort, but I think it’s even more true now).  I do need to go find a bathing suit though, which could be a terrible experience.  Paul and I will be headed on our baby moon later this month, and I currently don’t fit into any of the tops of my previous bathing suits…

Exercise? I had every intention of taking it easy this past week and just walking.  I did nothing.  So this week I plan on getting back in the gym.  My groin is still bothering me with certain movements, so I’m just going to avoid exercises where I can feel it pulling/straining.

Wedding Rings? ON!

Stretch Marks? Battle lost.  Tears were shed.  At least they aren’t on my stomach since I live in FL an bathing suits are a necessity… however I do still have 13 weeks to go so I’m guessing I won’t be that lucky.  After my shower I use Burt’s Bees Mama Baby Belly Butter, and before I go to bed at night I use BioOil.

Labor Signs? Braxton hicks are becoming a pretty daily symptom.  Not consistent, but I usually have at least 1 a day.  At my last doctor appointment I was given all sorts of information about labor symptoms, etc.  Not because they expect me to go into pre- term labor but as a precaution, because holy smokes it’s coming up quick!

What I miss? I’m actually doing pretty well right now – not missing too much of anything and just enjoying this little bump of mine 🙂 I could do without the tailbone pain though… ouch.

Looking forward to? Finishing up Aubrey’s dresser this week and getting it put in the nursery!  EEK!  1 more thing to mark off the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

