Unnecessary Sympathy

Ever since we found out we were having a little girl, we have been thrilled.  When I say “we”, I literally mean, Paul and I.  When we talked about our future we’ve always talked about kids, and both of us thought it would be great to have a little boy first, so he could grow up to protect his little sister.  Knowing that we have absolutely no control over the gender of our baby, neither of us felt any disappointment when we found out we were having a little girl.  We were over the moon.  All we ever wanted was a healthy baby.  When we prayed about our baby, we never prayed, “Please give me a boy” or “Please give me a girl”, it was only ever “please let our baby grow strong and healthy”.

Whenever someone finds out we are pregnant, even strangers, they ask if we know what the sex is yet.  We let them know it’s a girl, and every single time, they look at Paul to sympathize and try to reassure him.  They make comments along the lines of, “Oh little girls can be so much fun too!” “You’re still going to love having a little girl”, “I bet you wanted a boy, but don’t worry, it’s fun raising a girl”.

I’ve always heard these comments, but I never brought them up to him, and I didn’t think he looked into it much.  Until we were in the car driving, and Paul said, “It bothers me that people always make comments, that make it seem like I’m disappointed to be having a little girl”.  Ouch.  I know it’s pretty common, for men to want to have boys.  They want to teach them to play sports, and be rough and tough.  A lot of men may not know how to relate to having a little girl, because they never were one, but to assume someone is disappointed to be having a little girl is pretty harsh.

From the moment we found out it was a little girl, Paul started making plans.  He talks about all the things he will teach Aubrey.  He can’t wait to take her fishing, and on bike rides.  Just because we’re having a girl, doesn’t mean she can’t learn how to fish, hunt, throw a ball, and do things boys do.  She is going to love getting to spend time with her daddy.  Sure, she may lose interest in some of those things as she grows up, but that doesn’t mean Paul can’t spend quality time with his daughter teaching her all sorts of things.

So no, we aren’t having a boy, but Paul doesn’t need any sympathy, because we are having a little girl, and he’s so excited about it.  I just have this feeling that she will be a daddy’s girl through and through.

8 thoughts on “Unnecessary Sympathy

  1. future dance mom March 19, 2015 / 6:04 pm

    I love this!! So funny, because we’ve experienced the opposite!!! Ever since we found out we were having a boy, everyone says “Kevin MUST be so excited!!”. And like you and your hubby, we just wanted A baby. A HEALTHY baby. We didn’t really care about gender. But truth be told, Kevin wanted a girl. He wanted a “daddy’s girl”. To teach her sports and how to be awesome and turn down the boys when they come knocking!!! haha. But my husband also asked “Why do people think I’m so excited?? I’m excited regardless of the gender!”. So funny… yet weird. Continuing to send you blessings for your little girl in this crazy world we are in!!

    • Lauren Millard March 19, 2015 / 6:14 pm

      That is too funny! I guess people just assume guys always want boys!!! We just wanted a family and a healthy little baby!! So happy for you guys❤️

  2. twistedchandelier March 19, 2015 / 8:18 pm

    Hi, just read your post. I come from a culture where in the past people thought having a boy is an achievement. However, in the last 5 years things have changed dramatically and people pray for girls. Personally I just want my child to be healthy, the gender does not matter at all. Like I said whenever someone has a baby girl now, people call them lucky. 🙂

  3. mummycunningham March 20, 2015 / 5:23 am

    I have a boy and I don’t know what this baby is yet, but everyone assumes my husband wanted another boy. The first time around we both ‘wanted’ a boy, for the same reasons you listed. But we would of been thrilled with a girl too. Our friends were expecting at the same time as us and have a Girl, the dad was so excited and hes amazing with her. Congratulations on your pregnancy !

    • Lauren Millard March 20, 2015 / 5:44 am

      Thank you so much! Congratulations to you too!!

  4. Elle April 16, 2015 / 1:26 pm

    We had the opposite! Kevin wanted a little girl sooooo badly, and honestly so did I. I have a 6yr old boy and so even though he didn’t get the younger years (this is his first baby) he already has a son in his mind. Which I adore. We found out we were having boy #2 and I think we were both shocked for a moment…but now he’s looking up Daddy & Baby matching outfits lol. People always assume they know what you’re thinking…but it really does vary with each individual when it comes to gender reveals!

      • Elle April 16, 2015 / 1:30 pm

        Thank you! You as well!

Leave a Reply

