Sorry, I’m Not Sorry

Monday night, Paul was out of town.  So I was having a lazy do nothing night which consisted of reading and watching tv (I won’t get many of those starting in June – so I’m taking full advantage).  Around 7:15 or so I got up to go to the bathroom, and I noticed I was bleeding.  I am 7 months along, and up to this point I had no bleeding of any sort.  I freaked.  The worst thoughts ran through my head.

I immediately call Paul crying.  He tells me to call my mom and to go to the doctor.  So I hang up the phone and I call my doctor’s office, which of course is closed.  So I listen to their voice recording, something along the lines of, “Our office is currently closed, if you have an emergency, hang up and dial 9-1-1, if you are pregnant and are experiencing bleeding, cramping, or expect you are going into labor, please go to your delivering hospital and they will contact your provider”.  So then I cry some more, and pull myself together enough to call my mom.  I tell her what’s happening, and after a quick conversation she is on her way to come get me and take me to the ER (thank goodness she lives 5 minutes away again)!  In those 5 minutes, I went back to the bathroom probably 5 times.  At which point, I notice I didn’t see anymore blood.  I also kept shaking my stomach, and poking trying to get her to kick or move, but she wasn’t.

When my mom got to my house, I told her I didn’t know if we should go anymore, because I don’t see any blood, and I don’t want to be “that girl”.  The girl that freaks out over nothing, goes to the hospital and wastes their time.  Though my mom understood, she said ,”Well this is your first pregnancy, you’ve never experienced this, and you would rather be safe than sorry.  If nothing else, you will get peace of mind knowing the baby is okay”.  So I quickly agreed, and off to the hospital we went.

We walked into the ER, and were immediately taken upstairs to the maternity ward, where I was hooked up to a fetal monitoring system.  Within seconds, I heard Aubrey’s heartbeat, and I felt the tears coming back, but this time it was tears of relief.  So then they did some testing, etc, and long story short, there is absolutely nothing wrong with myself or Aubrey.  We are both healthy, and they believe it was just random spotting, which apparently is NORMAL for most women… but nobody has told me this!  I knew it happened early on in pregnancy while you’re hormones were going crazy, but I didn’t know it could happen this late in the pregnancy.  I know what to look for now, and I know what wouldn’t be considered “normal”.  I apologized to the nurse (who was kind of awesome, and if she’s there for my delivery, I am totally okay with that!) for nothing being wrong, when they were having a super busy night.  The whole time we were there, we just kept hearing the lullaby song that is played each time a baby is born.  She immediately told me not to apologize, and made me feel better.

During this whole time, Paul is in Jacksonville having a little panic of his own.  He’s not with me to know what is really going on.  He just kept calling and texting me.  I probably worried him more than I should, after all he was pretty close to packing up and heading home.  This is his little girl we’re dealing with!

When all was said and done, I honestly felt dumb going in after nothing ended up being wrong.  Knowing there are people there with serious injuries, and I’m just taking their time, but then after I thought about it more I’m not sorry at all.  This is MY baby we’re talking about.  Maybe I overreacted a little bit, but the possibilities of what could have happened had me terrified.   This little girl growing inside me is mine.  She is all I can think about.  If that means a quick trip to the ER for them to say everything is fine, I’m okay with that.  I’m not risking anything when it comes to her precious life.

4 thoughts on “Sorry, I’m Not Sorry

  1. Eightlegs2People March 26, 2015 / 8:27 pm

    I know what you mean ! I was picking up don from the airport when I was early in my pregnancy, when I went to the br i had blood. Having a miscarriage the first time around it made me sick to my stomach . When I went , to the ER it was such a since of relief. Glad to here you and baby A are safe ❤ and healthy

    • Lauren Millard March 26, 2015 / 8:29 pm

      Oh I couldn’t imagine! Especially being this far along at this point, I don’t know what I would do!! Losing a baby at any point would be devastating!! I could only imagine your fear when you went to the bathroom!

  2. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet March 27, 2015 / 9:23 am

    Aww 😦 I agree… no one has told me that either! I had a pap smear done at 20 weeks and he told me I may see blood over the next few days but nothing other then that. I would freak too, I had an ectopic (not many know) that ruptured inside me last year. I didn’t know I was pregnant and everytime I bled from the ectopic it seemed like the same time as my period, since I get time every 3 weeks. I was bleeding around week 5 and then 7 and ran to the ER freaking out like I don’t need this again…! It is better to be safe 🙂 Glad you and baby girl are! ❤

    • Lauren Millard March 27, 2015 / 9:27 am

      Oh goodness! I’m sorry to hear that! Yah I definitely freaked out so it was a relief to know everything was okay!

Leave a Reply

