My Little Girl

At our wedding, I danced with my dad to “My Little Girl” by Tim McGraw.  That song has always left me with a soft spot.  If you’ve never heard it, you can listen to it here. I thought it fit perfectly for my dad and I.  Specifically this verse:

Someday, some boy will come and ask me for your hand.
But I won’t say “yes” to him unless I know, he’s the half
that makes you whole, he has a poet’s soul, and the heart of a man’s man.
I know he’ll say that he’s in love.
But between you and me. He won’t be good enough!

I am not trying to say my Dad doesn’t love Paul, he does. He gave Paul his blessing which is a big deal if you know my dad.  He knew Paul was perfect for me, but I also know that if my dad had any doubts he would have easily told him “No”.  Without him saying so I think this is how he felt when he gave me away, and I think every dad feels that way before they give away their daughter.

LaurenPaul_336

So while I was working, I had music playing and this song came on.  I couldn’t help but smile thinking of memories of my dance with my daddy.

LaurenPaul_92

As I was listening to the lyrics it hit me, soon this song could define how Paul feels about our daughter.  I just started picturing this little girl running into his arms, because I just know she is going to be a daddy’s girl.  It makes me so excited when I imagine watching Paul play with our daughter.  This perfect little girl that we haven’t even met yet.  So this verse came on, and so did the waterworks… (which isn’t abnormal these days when I think about babies, or giving birth, or things we will get to do with her!)

When you were in trouble that crooked little smile could melt my heart of stone.
Now look at you, I’ve turned around and you’ve almost grown.
Sometimes you’re asleep I whisper “I Love You!” in the moonlight at your door.
As I walk away, I hear you say, “Daddy Love You More!”

I grew up with a dad who drove me nuts sometimes, but I never once doubted how much he loved me.  I knew he would be there for me in an instant.  He gave the best hugs, and he’s probably the reason why I love to cuddle so much.  He gave me advice (sometimes it wasn’t always asked for, but he did it anyways… and maybe I didn’t listen when I was young, but I remember it all today).  Every little girl deserves a daddy like I had, and there is no question in my mind that Paul will be that dad for Aubrey.  Just that thought alone, makes my heart swell with joy. I am so thankful for a dad who taught me what to look for in a man, and I am so thankful that God brought this man into my life at the perfect time.  I am so incredibly thankful, that Aubrey gets to grow up with not only an amazing Daddy, but an amazing Grandpa.

LaurenPaul_129

Leave a Reply

