Baby M – 36 Weeks

Bump Analysis? Just when I thought I couldn’t get any bigger… Welcome to 9 months pregnant!  I mean really this is just a 5 week difference!  This almost makes me okay with my 4 lb weight gain last week!


Month/Trimester? 9 months [36 weeks – 40 weeks] / 3rd Trimester!  Did you read that?! 9 MONTHS PREGNANT!!!

Fruit of the week? Aubrey is the size of a Honeydew Melon!  She is 17.2-18.7 in and 4.2-5.8 lbs!

Development? She is getting closer to being able to breathe on her own.  Her skin is getting smooth, and her gums are rigid.  Her liver and kidneys are now fully functional, and her circulation and immune system are basically good to go!

I have literally breathed a sigh of relief with each passing week as she continues to develop and grow as strong as possible before delivery.  As of today, if I were to go into labor they would not try to stop it!  Meaning, we could literally be meeting our little girl any day now!  She will be considered full term next week though (it has been changed from 36 weeks to 37 weeks), so I am perfectly okay with her staying in there a little longer!  I also feel like she’s going to make me wait, and she will take her sweet time making her debut.

Movement? She is just bouncing around in there, and getting pretty cramped at that.

Name? Aubrey Joy 🙂

Testing? I have a doctor appointment on Friday, and they will test for Strep B.  If I test positive, they would put me on antibiotics during labor.  Also, I’ve officially reached the point where I’ll be visiting the doctor EVERY WEEK, because in case you didn’t know I’m about to have a baby!!! Holy. Smokes.

Weight Gain? 1 lb this week… Totaling 31 lbs.

Symptoms? 

  • Anxiety/Heart Palpitations/Shortness of Breath
  • Tingly/Numb leg sensations on my right leg
  • Dry Nose/Nose bleeds
  • Excessive pee breaks
  • Tailbone Pain
  • Heartburn
  • Swelling – I’ve been waiting for this to happen… Say goodbye to feet and ankles, and hello to fat sausages.

Cravings? Nothing really that I’m craving.

Aversions? Buffalo Chicken Dip, and I don’t think this is an aversion, but I really have no interest in vegetables.  They do not sound appealing at all.

Sleep? Aside from a couple restless nights here and there, I think I’ve been far too busy to keep myself awake at night.  Since Thursday I’ve been passing out at night, and only waking up 3-5 times to go to the bathroom.  No staring at the ceiling for me!   I also have a killer sore throat and stuffy nose, I am not sure if this is my body telling me to relax since the last 3 weeks have been insane, or if I’m just overdue for a cold.  Either way, I want to lay in bed and sleep.

Maternity Clothes?  Same old, same old.  I’ve actually got a couple maternity shirts that my belly is actually hanging out of…

Exercise? I had work in Orlando this past week, and we walked to dinner each night.  It was usually about half a mile or so, which is about a mile when I walked back to the hotel.  It may not have been intentional exercise, but I’m counting it.  I’ve also decided I’m just going to have to suck up the numbing/tingling in my right leg that makes it feel like it weighs 1000 lbs and just go walking.  So for the next 4 weeks, Paul is going to pull me out of the house to go walking… right honey?

Wedding Rings? ON!

Stretch Marks? No change here… Still using Burts Bees Mama Bee Belly Butter and BioOil.

Preparations for Baby? This week was busy for Paul and I.  He traveled for work, and I had an event here in town for work Thursday – Saturday, but the fact that we’re having a baby in a few weeks is still at the forefront of my mind all the time.  So this week I got the hospital bag officially packed – aside from some last minute items we will throw in before we go (i.e. toothbrush, deodorant, etc). While I was working all weekend, Paul finished the rocking chair for the nursery! I’ve got a pillow coming in the mail, and then it will be done!! So happy!  I am also slowly taking baby items out of boxes to get them assembled.  Aubrey now has a bouncer to sit in, and this week I’m sure I’ll make my way to the Rock n’ Play and the swing!

The preparation that made it feel the most real though, was installing the car seat in my car (which also made it VERY apparent we are first time parents – so this coming week we will be getting it inspected for proper installation).  I have a car seat in my car, and it isn’t because I’m going to have one of my nieces in the car with me… it’s for our baby!  Every time I see it in the back seat, it feels real all over again!

We know the safest place for the car seat is in the middle, but unfortunately with the way our center seat sticks out it is very hard to get your fingers in there to release the car seat.
Labor Signs? Braxton hicks

What I miss? I’m far too anxious to meet my daughter at this point to miss anything.  Give me the back pain, excessive bathroom trips, and kicks to the ribs any day.  In about 4 weeks I will be holding my little girl!!

Looking forward to? A long three day weekend spent with my husband before we become parents!

3 thoughts on “Baby M – 36 Weeks

  1. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet May 19, 2015 / 1:34 pm

    I love the crib pictures from the post before this 🙂 And wow what a difference! I feel the same way, crazy what a couple to a few weeks does! I wish I could have my ring on 😦 My hands swell a couple of times in the day so I rather just not wear it out of comfort – meh! Enjoy that weekend 🙂

    • Lauren Millard May 19, 2015 / 2:01 pm

      Thank you!! Yah I just started swelling and so far my hands haven’t been an issue. I still take my rings off everyday to put lotion/oil on and they haven’t gotten stuck yet!! 😃

      • Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet May 19, 2015 / 2:06 pm

        Boo! It’s so weird that it happens. So many interesting happen to the body during pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

