Aubrey’s Nursery

From the very beginning, I felt like we were having a little girl.  So my mind immediately started planning a nursery for a girl.  I had some ideas for if it was a boy, but nothing I was set on. I knew I wanted to incorporate gray for a boy or a girl, because I’m kind of obsessed with the color.  I also knew I did not want a baby room theme (i.e. jungle, safari animals, Winnie the Pooh), not that there is anything wrong with those, it’s just really not my taste.  I wanted something classic that would grow with our baby.

As soon as we found out we were expecting a little girl, I took that as my green light to run and decorate our nursery, and before it was ever confirmed, I was set on purple, gold and gray as the color scheme.


I found this wallpaper at Target, and immediately was obsessed.  I wanted it to be the accent wall in her room!  Since we are currently renting, I figured this may be a little easier than painting, and having to repaint before we leave.  This wallpaper is vinyl peel & stick, so it isn’t like paper wall paper that takes forever to get off. (Paul claims paint would have been easier… Oops)

IMG_7533

Her crib is also from Target, and we somehow ended up getting it for almost 50% off… you won’t see me complaining!

The adorable little blanket you see hanging on her crib was made by my mom, who is becoming quite the crochet queen since this is her third grandbaby!  The little basket next to her crib has all of her stuffed animals in it.

I can’t tell you how hard it was for me to find something to go above her crib that didn’t clash with the busy wallpaper.  When I finally found these mirrors at Hobby Lobby, they were silver.   So I had to paint them… 3 times.  3 different shades of white.  Heriloom White by Rustoleum was the winner in case you were curious.  I also didn’t break down in tears after the second time I painted them, because they didn’t look right.

FullSizeRender

These pictures were hanging at my baby shower that my sister threw for me.  She found them in a gallery wall book from Hobby Lobby and told me I could keep them.  Well I was just so excited, because “You Are My Sunshine” is kind of a sentimental song for me.  I was obsessed with that song when I was younger, and my mom’s sisters used to sing it and play it for me all the time.  I would beg to hear it.  So I love that there is a little piece of that in her room.

IMG_7535These are some knick knack decorations that I found and made.  I spray painted the mason jar silver, and then I cut some fake flowers that we used from our wedding, and put them in there.  So she has a little touch of our wedding incorporated into her nursery, and I kind of love that.

The “A” was something I made thanks to Pinterest, but my sister made one similar for my niece, Kennedy, back when she was born.

It’s hard to read the picture frames from this picture, but the purple one up top reads, “I’ll love you forever” and the gray flower one on the bottom reads, “She is more precious than rubies.  Proverbs 3:15”

IMG_7536

One of my favorite pieces in her nursery is this rocking chair.  This is the same rocking chair that Paul’s mom rocked him and his brother and sister in.  It goes way back, and I love that in just a few weeks, Paul and I can rock our own daughter to sleep in this chair.   This chair really meant a lot to Paul to have it in here, and I think it goes with her room perfectly.  (Just pretend the cushion on it is gray, because it will be soon!)

The pillow on the chair, I found on Pinterest at the beginning of my pregnancy.  I fell in love with it, and I knew when we found out we were having a little girl, that I wanted it in here.  I found it on Etsy, and I think it combines all the colors perfectly… I possibly should have gotton a larger size, but that’s okay.

There is another handmade blanket on this chair that is from a friends mom.  Which I just think is adorable that Aubrey has so many people who already love her and have made her such great blankets!  We also have another handmade blanket from Paul’s cousin, and we just love them all!

FullSizeRender (1)

This dresser was a Craigslist find that was actually brown wood, and Paul and I refinished it and painted the handles to give it a new look.  It turned out really well, and I think it is the perfect style for her nursery.

Her nursery has quickly become my favorite room in the house, and I go in there on a regular basis and sit, or organize.  I’ve never considered myself to have good taste when it comes to decorating.  I know what I want, I just can’t seem to make it come together the way that I want it to (i.e. the cause of the meltdown over the mirrors… I blame pregnancy hormones), and for the first time, I think I did just that.  (With the help of my mom and sister who got probably 1,000 text messages asking for their opinion on every little piece that’s in here!)

IMG_7407

Her nursery is ready to go, and now we are anxiously awaiting her arrival!

Leave a Reply

