Baby M – 38 Weeks

  

Bump Analysis? She’s dropping! You might not see it but Paul and I can tell!

Month/Trimester? 9 months [36 weeks – 40 weeks] / 3rd Trimester!

Fruit of the week? Aubrey is the size of a pumpkin!! [which really doesn’t help a first time mom imagine pushing something that size out… that’s terrifying!]   She is 18.9-20.9 in and 6.2-9.2lbs!

Development? She may already have an inch or so of hair, and she’s shedding the white goo looking stuff on her skin (Vernix caseosa).  Her head is now about the same circumference as her abdomen. She would be perfectly fine if she was born now.  πŸ˜ƒ

Movement? I can tell she is cramped – I feel more of her just moving and making my stomach bulge in different directions than kicking all the time now, but when she kicks man are they strong!

Name? Aubrey Joy πŸ™‚

Testing? The Strep B test came back negative so no antibiotics during labor, unless necessary for other reasons.  This was also the last test of my pregnancy.

Weight Gain?  1 lb this week… Totaling 32 lbs. My goal was to only gain 30 and I’m pretty close to that.  I’ll take it!

Symptoms? These make me sound miserable, but I don’t typically have them all at onceπŸ˜ƒ I’m actually feeling pretty good I think for as far along as I am!  The pressure and random pains are definitely not comfortable but I can deal!

  • Shortness of Breath
  • Tingly/Numb leg sensations on my right leg
  • Dry Nose/Nose bleeds
  • Excessive pee breaks
  • Tailbone Pain
  • Heartburn
  • Pressure

Cravings? Nothing really that I’m craving.

Aversions? Buffalo Chicken Dip.

Sleep? After a long May, this weekend Paul and I had ZERO plans and I took full advantage and napped on Saturday and Sunday.  It was just what I needed!  I felt so much better each day after I slept.  That being said… at night I am waking up constantly to go to the bathroom, and to flip from side to side, which PS is NOT easy at this point!  

Maternity Clothes?  Same old, same old.

Exercise? This past week, Paul and I went and swam laps and we’ve walked.  I am also still doing the squat challenge.  Yesterday was Day 11 with 120 squats… killer.  Today is much easier with only 40 πŸ™‚

Wedding Rings? ON! My rings were a little big to begin with, so though most people are surprised to hear they are still on its probably because they fit the way they should now.

Stretch Marks? No new tiger stripes… at least not yet! Still using Burts Bees Mama Bee Belly Butter and BioOil.

Preparations for Baby? I didn’t prep anything this week… I had every intention of making freezer meals for when she comes to help us have some meals for a while, but I chose to sleep instead.  I’m waiting for that nesting urge to kick back in like I had around 4 months, but the urge to sleep wins out every time…

Labor Signs? Memorial Day weekend I was having a LOT of contractions that had me thinking she was coming sooner rather than later, but then things slowed down.  The pressure lessened and the contractions slowed down.  Starting Saturday, the pressure started to come back in my lower abdomen, and then continued to move down to my pelvis.  I also started with more frequent contractions, but nothing that has me remotely ready to head to the hospital.

The doctor I saw today said they won’t do internal exams until 40 weeks to prevent infection.  Apparently every doctor in the practice does it differently, and so we still have no idea if there is any progress going on… Although I guess it doesn’t make much of a difference.  Labor will start when it starts!

Paul is betting on her coming June 7th, so we’ll see if he’s right πŸ™‚  This waiting game… it ain’t easy!  Can I PLEASE hold my baby girl?!

What I miss? Standing, putting shoes on, getting out of bed all without help.  I guess I just like being independent πŸ˜‰ ha.

Looking forward to? Getting labor over with, and just holding Aubrey in my arms! Also seeing Paul as a Dad, because I am positive it will have me falling in love with him all over again πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Baby M – 38 Weeks

  1. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet June 3, 2015 / 10:53 am

    You are too cute! I feel the same way getting out of bed at 31Weeks. Making a few things is def going to be useful! I’ll be off starting mid-July, so I plan to begin then. It’s funny you mention about the hair. Baby G has a ton of hair already (had to do an ultrasound this week) and she still has weeks to go lol! Guess she’s taking after her dad there πŸ™‚ 2 more weeks for little Aubrey!

    • Lauren Millard June 3, 2015 / 10:55 am

      Aw I haven’t had an ultrasound since like 25 weeks so I have no idea if she has hair or not!!! I can’t wait!!!

      • Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet June 3, 2015 / 4:37 pm

        πŸ™‚ they needed to check on her growth rate (was too big) but now she’s back on track. I think I was overdoing it with protein, just my opinion though!! I’m excited to see her too, she’s going to be so adorable. πŸ™‚

      • Lauren Millard June 3, 2015 / 4:46 pm

        Aw glad everything is okay!! πŸ˜ƒ

Leave a comment