So Close…

Having a baby changes everything!  One thing it drastically changes is running errands.  I feel like I’ve gotten the hang of this whole “mom” thing pretty easily, but it still left me terrified to head out in public with just me and Aubrey.

Anytime I’ve needed to go somewhere I’ve waited for Paul to come as reinforcements, or I’ve gone with a friend (thanks Brooke!), or Aubrey stays home with Paul for a quick 20-30 minutes for me to run out.  

Well Aubrey is almost a month old (I still am in disbelief) and I can’t run errands this way forever, so I finally got the courage to head out and run some errands alone with my sweet baby.  

We packed up the diaper bag, loaded up into the car and we stopped to get gas.  She fell fast asleep (perfect!).  Then we headed to my doctor to pick up some paperwork (still sleeping!) and then the big test… Grocery shopping!  

I pulled into Publix, threw on my ring sling (which is a life saver already) and then got Aubrey all situated.  We headed into Publix (still sleeping!) and all the other customers commented, asked questions etc.  I was feeling pretty proud… Then we reached the checkout line.

While waiting Aubrey leaked through her diaper (I changed her before we left, but it was a different brand she’s been wearing and I don’t think they are tight enough around the legs… You can see where this is going).  So while I’m standing there with my adorable baby fast asleep in the ring sling I feel warm wet liquid flowing from her bottom.  All over me.  All over her. All over the ring sling.  We were in the check out line so there wasn’t much I could do… Other than sanitize my hands and get out before she woke up! 

But we were SO CLOSE to having a successful trip. However, she didn’t scream and a little pee never hurt anyone right?  

  

5 thoughts on “So Close…

  1. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet July 13, 2015 / 8:25 pm

    Aww can’t believe she is almost a month ahhh! Where does time go? I’d say pretty successful that she was sleeping/ quiet the whole trip. Sounds like you are doing amazing πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Lauren Millard July 13, 2015 / 8:26 pm

      I can’t believe it’s been a month! I can’t wait to see your little girl in a few weeks!!!

      • Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet July 13, 2015 / 8:27 pm

        Thanks! Yes only 3 give or take! I feel like I am in Finals week of college just waiting…

      • Lauren Millard July 13, 2015 / 8:28 pm

        Oh I know it! I was so incredibly anxious!! She will be here before you know it though!

  2. hollowsg July 15, 2015 / 10:55 am

    Good for you. You were brave to go out. My little girl is only 11 days old and my husband just called saying he is delayed and can’t be back in time to take our dog out. So I’m gonna have to brave it alone with baby girl and dog, I’m terrified but at some point we all have to be strong. Keep it up, it can only get better in my opinion. 😊

Leave a Reply

