Happy 1 Month Aubrey Joy!

I am in complete disbelief at how quickly a month has flown by! I might be in more disbelief at how much you have changed in just a short month!

You were born 7lbs 1 oz, but went down to 6lbs 10oz partially due to jaundice.  Your doctor said you were close to losing a little too much weight, so he wanted to make sure you gained weight by your next appointment.  Well 2 days later you were at 6lbs 15oz and I breathed a sigh of relief.   That 5 oz weight gain should have been an indicator to how quickly you would grow, because by two weeks you were up to 8lb 2 oz and for your 1 month check up you were 8lbs 15oz!  Needless to say you can eat like a champ!


You’ve grown from 19inches to 20.5 inches in just 4 short weeks.  I had to retire the few newborn clothes you did have, and I may or may not had shed a tear or two as I folded them and put them away.


We’ve had some challenges with breastfeeding.  You are a tongue sucker… And it hurts.  But we’ve made it a month, and it’s slowly getting better.  We did give you a bottle this month to give me a break, and once you realized what was coming out you had no issues taking it!  Daddy likes getting to feed you.   Eventually we will give you more bottles as you get older.  For now there is nothing I love more than my quiet time with you while you eat.  It’s so peaceful, and we always snuggle afterwards.


You have initiated me into motherhood with explosive spit ups, peeing and pooping during diaper changes, and not to mention peeing on me at Publix during our first outing with just the two of us! You initiated daddy too by pooping on him before bath time and some serious projectile spit up that puts Hollywood comedies to shame.

You hated your first sponge baths, but once we could give you a real bath you love them.  You are so content and happy in the warm water.  I love our little family bath time!

  
You’ve started to focus on things.  You really love staring at the fan, or the trees outside.  You love laying on your play mat and the changing table seems to be one of your favorite places!

   
   

I could honestly stare at you all day.  I love your little facial expressions and the smiles when you’re asleep.  I can’t wait to see a smile for real!

   
   

You can handle tummy time for a few minutes before you get upset… Or fall asleep.  You already have such a strong neck and you’re quite the wiggle worm!

  

You have made me a mommy, and made my dream come true.  I love you more than you know, and I cannot wait to watch you grow up!  

  
Happy 1 month!! I love you my sweet girl!  

  
I promise it isn’t so bad getting older! 😉

2 thoughts on “Happy 1 Month Aubrey Joy!

  1. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet July 20, 2015 / 6:46 pm

    She is so precious <3! Happy 1 month to the little one 🙂 And the newborn pictures in the other post are beautiful. ❤

Leave a Reply

