Confessions of a New Mom

Life sure is different once you have a baby.  Now that our sweet girl is almost 3 months old (I know… time is FLYING), I feel like we have our new “normal” set for how our life is… at least for now.  I also realized some of the things that worried me before Aubrey was here, weren’t as big of a deal.  I also realized some of the things I seriously overlooked…

  • Showers.  It’s like an ongoing joke with mom’s about showering.  You always hear them say, “Hey at least I got a shower!”.  I really thought they were exaggerating.  They weren’t.  Now, I do get to shower everyday, but they are the fastest showers I’ve ever taken in my life.  I seriously value when I can take my time in the shower and actually shave my legs… which I’m sure my husband appreciates as well.
  • Don’t Google. I have never googled so many things in my entire life!  My husband actually made me stop.  Is she sleeping too long?  Is she eating too much?  Is she eating enough? Why is she so gassy?  Is this diaper rash or a yeast infection?  This much spit up can’t be normal… and so on.  I worked at a daycare.  I have nieces and nephews.  I am NO stranger to kiddos, but having one of your own is a whole new ball game.
  • How many times can you check on your baby while they’re sleeping? I know this isn’t just me, but I seriously freak myself out thinking while Aubrey sleeps.  I know she’s fine, I can see her on the video monitor, but I HAVE to go make sure she is still breathing.  The whole SIDS thing freaks me out, and Aubrey is in the prime age so I don’t think I’ll stop checking on her for a while.
  • Our baby won’t sleep in our bed!  Right?!  WRONG!  There was actually a two week stretch where Aubrey wouldn’t sleep anywhere BUT in our bed.  Co-sleeping makes night feedings SO much easier for breastfeeding mama’s!  Aubrey can eat, and I sleep through it.  More sleep for me.  More sleep for baby.  More sleep for hubs.  It’s a WIN all around right?!  Unless you’re terrified of rolling over her and you sleep in awkward positions like us. 
  • Breastfeeding in public. This never crossed my mind as as issue, because breastfeeding in my family is super normal.  I just assumed some people use formula, some people breastfeed.  No big deal, but apparently it is a big deal.  I cover myself, and I still get awkwardly stared at.  Get over it people.  Stop sexualizing breastfeeding, and realize this is what God actually created breasts for!  My baby is hungry.  You can hear her scream, or you can go about your day.
  • NO time for relaxing. This probably one of the BIGGEST things I overlooked.  I seriously don’t stop.  From the time I wake up, to the time I go to sleep.  Between work, Aubrey, cooking, cleaning, trying to get in some exercise to lose that baby weight, taking care of our dogs, there is NO time left for me.  The time I get to relax is when I feed Aubrey in bed, and I can read a book or watch 15 minutes of HGTV.  I totally understand the whole, “I don’t have time to workout” thing now! I have to squeeze every minute out of my day!
  • I never knew how much I would miss my husband.  THIS is the BIGGEST thing I overlooked.  We live together, we both work at home.  How can you miss him?  Yes I see him everyday.  We talk and laugh and it’s great, but I never knew how much adding a tiny little person to your family would change the dynamic of your marriage.  It’s just not the same, and I miss him!  Date nights are more sparse.   As in we have had 1 in the last 3 months.  We don’t lay in bed and talk anymore.  (Because I pass out the second my head hits the pillow.  There have been many nights that Aubrey and I both fall asleep while I’m nursing her, and Paul takes Aubrey and puts her in her bed, and wakes me up to make me lay down.  Bless him).  We went from being each other’s everything to having to share, and let’s be honest, sharing isn’t always easy.
  • Mama Bear.  People talk about it, but man is it true.  Aubrey is my baby.  Don’t tell me what you think I need/should do for her, because my way of doing something is different than your way.   Don’t get offended when I don’t take your advice.  Our opinions can differ, and we can still both be great moms to our babies.

The last few months have flown by, and there have been a lot of emotions involved as a new mom.  All the unsolicited advice from when I was pregnant I can now see playing out.  Some of it was so far off, and some of it was so spot on.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a New Mom

  1. theheavenlyrose September 13, 2015 / 6:39 pm

    I agree with you. I’m a nurse and been around kids all my life… but having one of my own. OH BOY!

Leave a Reply

